Skip navigation

Warning: this post may contain just a hint of bitterness toward the treatment of so called A listers.

Want your own individual header for your wordpress.com blog?  One of your very own choosing?  Well too bad, you’re out of luck.  That is unless your name happens to be Scoble

Since when did WordPress treat people with such bias?  I was first alerted to this via John Evans who has been slightly more polite than I’m going to be about this.

Call me petty if you will – I am aware that this is only a header we’re talking about – but it’s the principal of it.  From reading the (masses of) comments to a three word post I gather this is Scoble’s first venture into the world of WordPress.  Surely if you’re going to ‘reward’ somebody with a feature that nobody else has, the person getting said reward should have gotten it through loyalty and service to the WordPress brand, rather than because they’re included in the ‘A listers’ club?  I can think of many more people who give a lot of their time voluntarily who would have been far more deserving.  People like Lorelle or Podz to name but a few.

I’m disappointed.  I’m disappointed that such bias amongst users has already shown its face here.  I’m disappointed in the people who made the decision to exclude all the everyday users (who make up the majority of present and future users). 

13 Comments

  1. Blimey, I didn’t intend to stir up a storm. My main intention was to catch the eye of someone at the top since emails are not answered. However, since WordPress has decided to give a favour to an A-lister ~ and it is something of a coup to have Microsoft’s well-liked evangelist blogger here ~ they should definitely consider rolling out the feature to everyone within a few months. If they would just state that, it would quell a lot of resentment.

    http://cosmosity.wordpress.com

  2. We don’t have a system for doing this yet, I went in and manually changed his template. Obviously that doesn’t scale. We can’t offer a feature like this until we have a UI for it.

  3. I imagined it was a manual procedure as Scoble said he was talking to you about a stable URL. Now on that subject, Matt ……………………………..

  4. Doesn’t bother me in the slightest, and I can see any thinking behind it. No matter who gets the shiny stuff first to play with it can never be fair (but then it’s not meant to be), and I can also see that Matt might be asking Scoble for more feedback which again too is fair seeing as WP is new to him – the fact that if Scoble says it’s not so good would be bad news must also be a factor.
    It’s only a blog 🙂

  5. Maybe I just got out of the wrong side of the bed this morning. 😉

    I probably was a little harsh, it’s just that people being given special treatment because of their ‘fame’ irks me a little. But that’s the way of the world I guess.

    Appreciate you all stopping by anyway. 🙂

  6. You will always, always be famous to me Zenith. . .

    Father Luke

  7. Fame is a relative term I guess. But thank you for the sentiment Father Luke. 😉

  8. I didn’t get one. 😉

  9. As much as I wish I could change everything (or just some minor details), I have a small regard for “pretty templates” because of the usual blogspot/myspace atrocities.

    I’m surprise (and disappointed) that they’d choose to customize one single page to make it look a lot less pleasing than the mentioned pretty templates… the sidebar screams “mid-90’s”!

  10. Yeah, the whole template is customised now not just the header. That hadn’t escaped my notice, but I thought I’d probably ranted enough already. 😉

  11. I dont understand any of this

    I just wanted to borrow a phrase from a friend of mine

    “Fight the power!”

  12. Actually I quite like Matt, so it’s not so much fighting the power in this case (though I’m all for that of course!), but more of a disagreement on a decision. 😉

  13. Getting ‘special’ treatment certainly hasn’t done Scoble’s template design much good :D.

    Wait until Matt & Co roll out the ‘Edit your template CSS’ interface, and there’ll be an outburst of creative energy around this place!
    Now, I know we’re all supposed to be reading blogs for their content <g< … but, call me old-fashioned, possums, I still believe in form and function working hand in hand. 🙂


Leave a comment